Skip to main content /US /US


Navy honors Pentagon heroes

WASHINGTON (CNN) -- The U.S. Navy Monday honored with awards 85 sailors, Marines and civilians for their response to the September 11 attack on the Pentagon.

"On September 11, whether they were civilian or uniform, man or woman, young or old, these heroes were defined by just one word: America," said Secretary of the Navy Gordon R. England.

"Through the smoke and the flames heroes rose to help their shipmates," he continued. "When they found the lost shipmate these heroes said, 'Follow me.' When they heard a cry for help, these heroes said, 'I'm going back in.'"

Recipients of the awards:

Navy and Marine Corps Medal -- Awarded to Sailors and Marines who distinguish themselves by heroism not involving actual conflict with the enemy. For acts of life-saving or attempted life-saving, it is required that the action be performed at the risk of one's own life.

Capt. Croy, George P. Capt. Kosnik, Mark E.

Capt. Thomas, David M.

Cmdr. Lancaster, George M.

Cmdr. Perez, Samuel

Cmdr. Powell, Craig D. Cmdr. Schmieley, Donald A.

Cmdr. Wetherald, Hugh D.

Lt. Cmdr. Capets, Charles

Lt. Cmdr. Tarantino, Jr., David A.

Lt. Sell, Olin M.

Ync Krauss, John T.

Gy. Sgt. Mceniry, James

Is2 Gully, Steven G.

Is2 Lhuillier, Jason M.

Os2 Paz, Roberto

Os2 Rakowski, Jason W.

Qm2 Suggs, Christopher T.

Ab3 Jackson, Kenyatta

Lance Cpl. Schuetz, Dustin P.

Lance Cpl. Vera, Michael

Ynsn Whitmarsh, Cean E

Purple Heart -- Awarded to service members killed or wounded as a result of an act of any hostile force. Cmdr. Coughlin, Charles E.

Cmdr. Greenberg, Robert N.

Yn2 Lewis, Charles

Issn Cole, Sarah M.

Defense of Freedom Medal -- Established to recognize civilian employees of the Department of Defense who are killed or wounded in the line of duty. The medal symbolizes the extraordinary fidelity and essential service of the department's civilian workforce who contribute to the preservation of national security.

Ms. Henson, Jarrell N.

Ms. Fowler, Amy E.

Department of the Navy Superior Public Service Award -- The second-most-prestigious public-service award bestowed on individuals by the Navy, it recognizes significant contributions having broad impact. Contributions must have substantially benefited a major organizational element or a large geographic area.

Mr. Hoerst, Stephen

Ms. Scott, Kim

Mr. Sekeroglou, Georgios

Meritorious Service Medal -- Awarded to any member of the Armed Forces of the United States who has achieved distinnction by outstanding meritorious achievement or service to the United States. The Meritorious Service Medal is the counterpart of the Bronze Star for recognition of meritorious non-combat service.

Capt. Heckleman, Loren V.

Cmdr. Coughlin, Charles E.

Cmdr. Kieffer, John F.

Cmdr. Navas, George E.

Cmdr. Spence, James M.

Lt. j.g. Parks, William

Is2 Gully, Steven G.

Is3 Polasek, Jesse G.

Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal -- Awarded to Sailors and Marines for acts of heroism and meritorious achievement or service above that normally expected and sufficient to distinguish the individual above those performing similar services.

Capt. Feerick, John

Capt. Frost, Stephen

Capt. Grandfield, Philip W.

Capt. Kern, Dennis J.

Capt. Logeman, Judy A.

Capt. Phillips, James W.

Capt. Rush, Thornwell F.

Capt. Seen, Kenneth K.

Capt. Vieira, Jane F.

Capt. Wise, James W.

Cmdr. Bollman, Mcwilliam V.

Cmdr. Braswell, Donald H. B.

Cmdr. Jones, Jeffrey S.

Cmdr. Langford, Edward D.

Cmdr. Lescault, Randall J.

Cmdr. Uhl, John M

Cmdr. Van Deusen, Karl J.

Cmdr. Yohe, James R

Lt. Cmdr. Castro, Nelson C.

Lt. Cmdr. Chadwick, Robert B.

Lt. Cmdr. Malloy, James J.

Lt. Cmdr. Nordholm, Alan F.

Lt. Cmdr. Rielage, Dale C.

Lt. Cmdr. Skarbek, James F.

Lt. Cmdr. Way, Michael W.

Lt. Chittick, Shaun A.

Lt. Ennis, Kelly D.

Lt. Goodman, Gregory E.

Lt. Humbert, Megan J.

Capt. Sutton, Matthew E.

Lt. j. g. Mallory, Laura L.

Ctc Alleger, Sheryl A.

Hmc Hamilton, Raymond D.

Gunnery Sgt. Malnichuck, Matthew

Gunnery Sgt. Mcclelland

Staff Sgt. Mix, Ronald

Sgt. Chambers, Tim A.

Sgt. Farrington, Michael K.

Yn2 Hazelwood, Kevin W.

Hm2 Wilkinson, Jeremy

Cpl. Bliss, Garret B.

Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal -- Awarded to sailors and Marines for meritorious service or achievement in a combat or non-combat situation based on sustained performance or a specific achievement of a superlative nature.

Lt. Cmdr. Listopad, Joseph

Ync Davis, Aldrich M.

Msc Lopez, Antonia

Ync Matthews, Jr. Richard A.

Issn Cole, Sarah M.

Navy Letter of Commendation Capt. Miller, Arthur R.

Cmdr. Luka, Ronald D.

Cmdr. Magnusson, Kevin L.

Cmdr. Sawyer, Thomas J.

Lt. Cmdr. Lemek David A.

Lt. Goodman, Gregory E.

Yn2 Magee, Alexander E.


See related sites about US
Note: Pages will open in a new browser window
External sites are not endorsed by CNN Interactive.



Back to the top