Skip to main content /WORLD
CNN.com /WORLD
SERVICES
CNN TV
EDITIONS


 » Special Report  | Timeline  |  Faces of September 11  |  Fighting Terror

Remembering 9/11 in Europe

Rome
Two Italian firefighters attending a mass in Rome  


LONDON, England -- Numerous events are being held on September 11 across Europe to commemorate the tragic events of a year ago. Here are some of those remembrances, by city:

Berlin

  • German leaders attend a national memorial service in the Berlin Dome. Chancellor Gerhard Schroeder, President Johannes Rau and other leaders attend the service led jointly by the country's Catholic and Lutheran churches. The service includes a prayer by U.S. Ambassador Daniel Coats and a performance by jazz singer Jocelyn B. Smith.
  • Paris

  • French President Jacques Chirac visits the U.S. Embassy for a moment of silence and the playing of national anthems at approximately noon CET (1000 GMT).
  • The Caen Memorial for Peace presents a permanent exhibition of four girders from the ruins of the World Trade Center and 10 giant photographs depicting the event also at noon CET (1000 GMT).
  • IN-DEPTH
     • America Remembers 
     
    INTERACTIVE
    How has the world changed since 9/11?
     
    MORE STORIES
     • Princes lead service 
     • America returns flag to UK 
     • Chirac: Debt to U.S. 
     • Putin offers condolences 
     • Europe remembers 9/11 
     • Airports tighten security 
     • Rebuilding a business 
     • Putin's 'turning point' 

  • The American Cathedral holds a memorial ceremony at 7:30 p.m. CET (1730 GMT).
  • Rome

  • Mass held in Rome Cathedral at 10 a.m. (0800 GMT).
  • An evening commemorative jazz concert will be held at the Coliseum at 9 p.m. CET (1900 GMT).
  • Brussels

  • NATO headquarters holds a 30-minute commemorative ceremony at 2:20 p.m. CET (1220 GMT). The ceremony will include remarks by NATO Secretary-General George Robertson and U.S. Ambassador to NATO R. Nicholas Burns, a prayer of remembrance and a minute of silence. Attendees will include staff members of NATO delegations, the Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council missions, Mediterranean Dialogue countries as well as international and military staff.
  • London

  • Prince Charles and Prime Minister Tony Blair attend a memorial service at St. Paul's Cathedral, which starts shortly after 1 p.m. (1200 GMT). Blair is also expected to fly to New York to attend memorial services there later in the day.
  • The U.S. Embassy holds a 30-minute remembrance ceremony in Grosvenor Square across from the Embassy starting at 10 a.m. (0900 GMT). The ceremony includes remarks by U.S. Ambassador William S. Farish and New York Police Lt. Frank Dwyer. A photo exhibit, "After September 11: Images from Ground Zero" by Joel Meyerowitz, will be open to the public at the square all day.
  • The American Church in London will hold a remembrance service at 8 p.m. (1900 GMT) at the Methodist Central Hall at Westminster, across from Westminster Abbey. Music for reflection begins at 7:30 p.m.
  • St. Bride's Church on Fleet Street will hold a commemoration service at 6 p.m. (1700 GMT)
  • West London Synagogue on Seymour Place will hold a multi-faith service at 6:30 p.m. (1730 GMT)
  • The Royal Institute of International Affairs hosts "September 11 One Year On: An Assessment," a conference on global terrorism and the global impact of September 11. Participants in the conference, which begins at 1:30 p.m. (1230 GMT), include Rosemary Hollis, head of RIIA's Middle East programme; and Chris Wright, a senior RIIA research fellow on assignment from the UK Ministry of Defence.
  • Across Europe

  • Various stores, stock exchanges and investment banks are expected to observe two minutes of silence at 2:46 p.m. CET (1246 GMT), the moment the first plane hit the World Trade Center in New York.
  • Rolling Mozart Requiem: Choirs around the world are participating in a "Rolling Requiem;" starting at the International Date Line, the choirs will begin singing at 8:46 a.m. local time (when the first World Trade Center tower was hit). Participating choirs in Europe include Vesna Children's Chorus, Moscow; St Nicolas Church Choir, Kaliningrad, Russia; Branko Krsmanovic Chorus, Belgrade, Yugoslavia; Choir and Orchestra of the Church of St. Augustine, Vienna, Austria; Keighley Vocal Union, Bradley, England; Fleischmann Choir of the Cork School of Music, Cork, Ireland; Northern Symphonic Orchestra and the Choir of the Lapa Catholic Church, Lisbon, Portugal.


  •