Skip to main content
Home Asia Europe U.S. World Business Tech Science Entertainment Sport Travel Weather Specials Video I-Reports
Inside Politics

The Senate immigration vote: How they voted

From Lisa Goddard
CNN Radio
Adjust font size:
Decrease fontDecrease font
Enlarge fontEnlarge font

WASHINGTON (CNN) -- The Senate immigration compromise was effectively killed Thursday, failing to pass a critical procedural hurdle.

Senators voted 46 to 53 against ending debate and moving toward a final vote on the bill.

This type of vote, known as cloture, needed 60 votes to pass. (Full Story)

How did your senators vote? Here are two lists, by senators' last names and by state.

By name

• Sen. Daniel Akaka, D-Hawaii: Yes
• Sen. Lamar Alexander, R-Tennessee: No
• Sen. Wayne Allard, R-Colorado: No
• Sen. John Barrasso, R-Wyoming: No
• Sen. Max Baucus, D-Montana: No
• Sen. Evan Bayh, D-Indiana: No
• Sen. Robert Bennett, R-Utah: Yes
• Sen. Joseph Biden, D-Delaware: Yes
• Sen. Jeff Bingaman, D-New Mexico: No
• Sen. Christopher Bond, R-Missouri: No
• Sen. Barbara Boxer, D-California: Yes
• Sen. Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio: No
• Sen. Sam Brownback, R-Kansas: No
• Sen. Jim Bunning, R-Kentucky: No
• Sen. Richard Burr, R-North Carolina: No
• Sen. Robert Byrd, D-West Virginia: No
• Sen. Maria Cantwell, D-Washington: Yes
• Sen. Ben Cardin, D-Maryland: Yes
• Sen. Thomas Carper, D-Delaware: Yes
• Sen. Robert Casey, D-Pennsylvania: Yes
• Sen. Saxby Chambliss, R-Georgia: No
• Sen. Hillary Clinton, D-New York: Yes
• Sen. Tom Coburn, R-Oklahoma: No
• Sen. Thad Cochran, R-Mississippi: No
• Sen. Norm Coleman, R-Minnesota: No
• Sen. Susan Collins, R-Maine: No
• Sen. Kent Conrad, D-North Dakota: Yes
• Sen. Bob Corker, R-Tennessee: No
• Sen. John Cornyn, R-Texas: No
• Sen. Larry Craig, R-Idaho: Yes
• Sen. Mike Crapo, R-Idaho: No
• Sen. Jim DeMint, R-South Carolina: No
• Sen. Christopher Dodd, D-Connecticut: Yes
• Sen. Elizabeth Dole, R-North Carolina: No
• Sen. Pete Domenici, R-New Mexico: No
• Sen. Byron Dorgan, D-North Dakota: No
• Sen. Richard Durbin, D-Illinois: Yes
• Sen. John Ensign, R-Nevada: No
• Sen. Michael Enzi, R-Wyoming: No
• Sen. Russ Feingold, D-Wisconsin: Yes
• Sen. Dianne Feinstein, D-California: Yes
• Sen. Lindsey Graham, R-South Carolina: Yes
• Sen. Charles Grassley, R-Iowa: No
• Sen. Judd Gregg, R-New Hampshire: Yes
• Sen. Chuck Hagel, R-Nebraska: Yes
• Sen. Tom Harkin, D-Iowa: No
• Sen. Orrin Hatch, R-Utah: No
• Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison, R-Texas: No
• Sen. James Inhofe, R-Oklahoma: No
• Sen. Daniel Inouye, D-Hawaii: Yes
• Sen. Johnny Isakson, R-Georgia: No
• Sen. Tim Johnson, D-South Dakota: Not Voting, Recuperating from stroke)
• Sen. Edward Kennedy, D-Massachusetts: Yes
• Sen. John Kerry, D-Massachusetts: Yes
• Sen. Amy Klobuchar, D-Minnesota: Yes
• Sen. Herb Kohl, D-Wisconsin: Yes
• Sen. Jon Kyl, R-Arizona: Yes
• Sen. Mary Landrieu, D-Louisiana: No
• Sen. Frank Lautenberg, D-New Jersey: Yes
• Sen. Patrick Leahy, D-Vermont: Yes
• Sen. Carl Levin, D-Michigan: Yes
• Sen. Joseph Lieberman, I-Connecticut: Yes
• Sen. Blanche Lincoln, D-Arizona: Yes
• Sen. Trent Lott, R-Mississippi: Yes
• Sen. Richard Lugar, R-Indiana: Yes
• Sen. Mel Martinez, R-Florida: Yes
• Sen. John McCain, R-Arizona: Yes
• Sen. Claire McCaskill, D-Missouri: No
• Sen. Mitch McConnell, R-Kentucky: No
• Sen. Robert Menendez, D-New Jersey: Yes
• Sen. Barbara Mikulski, D-Maryland: Yes
• Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska: No
• Sen. Patty Murray, D-Washington: Yes
• Sen. Ben Nelson, D-Nebraska: No
• Sen. Bill Nelson, D-Florida: Yes
• Sen. Barack Obama, D-Illinois: Yes
• Sen. Mark Pryor, D-Arkansas: No
• Sen. Jack Reed, D-Rhode Island: Yes
• Sen. Harry Reid, D-Nevada: Yes
• Sen. Pat Roberts, R-Kansas: No
• Sen. John Rockefeller, D-West Virginia: No
• Sen. Ken Salazar, D-Colorado: Yes
• Sen. Bernard Sanders, I-Vermont: No
• Sen. Charles Schumer, D-New York: Yes
• Sen. Jeff Sessions, R-Alabama: No
• Sen. Richard Shelby, R-Alabama: No
• Sen. Gordon Smith, R-Oregon: No
• Sen. Olympia Snowe, R-Maine: Yes
• Sen. Arlen Specter, R-Pennsylvania: Yes
• Sen. Debbie Stabenow, D-Michigan: No
• Sen. Ted Stevens, R-Alaska: No
• Sen. John Sununu, R-New Hampshire: No
• Sen. Jon Tester, D-Montana: No
• Sen. John Thune, R-South Dakota: No
• Sen. David Vitter, R-Louisiana: No
• Sen. George Voinovich, R-Ohio: No
• Sen. John Warner, R-Virginia: No
• Sen. James Webb, D-Virginia: No
• Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse, D-Rhode Island: Yes
• Sen. Ron Wyden, D-Oregon: Yes

By state

Sessions, R: No
• Shelby, R: No

Murkowski, R: No
• Stevens, R: No

Kyl, R: Yes
• McCain, R: Yes

• Lincoln, D: Yes
• Pryor, D: No

• Boxer, D: Yes
• Feinstein, D: Yes

Allard, R: No
• Salazar, D: Yes

Dodd, D: Yes
• Lieberman, I: Yes

Biden, D: Yes
• Carper, D: Yes

Martinez, R: Yes
• Nelson, D: Yes

Chambliss, R: No
• Isakson, R-Georgia: No

Akaka, D: Yes
• Inouye, D: Yes

Craig, R: Yes
• Crapo, R: No

Durbin, D: Yes
• Obama, D: Yes

Bayh, D: No
• Lugar, R: Yes

Grassley, R: No
• Harkin, D: No

Brownback, R: No
• Roberts, R: No

Bunning, R: No
• McConnell, R: No

Landrieu, D: No
• Vitter, R: No

Collins, R: No
• Snowe, R: Yes

Cardin, D: Yes
• Mikulski, D: Yes

Kennedy, D: Yes
• Kerry, D: Yes

Levin, D: Yes
• Stabenow, D: No

Coleman, R: No
• Klobuchar, D: Yes

Cochran, R: No
• Lott, R: Yes

Bond, R: No
• McCaskill, D: No

Baucus, D: No
• Tester, D: No

Hagel, R: Yes
• Nelson, D: No

Ensign, R: No
• Reid, D: Yes

New Hampshire
Gregg, R: Yes
• Sununu, R: No

New Jersey
Lautenberg, D: Yes
• Menendez, D: Yes

New Mexico
Bingaman, D: No
• Domenici, R: No

New York
Clinton, D: Yes
• Schumer, D: Yes

North Carolina
Burr, R: No
• Dole, R: No

North Dakota
Conrad, D: Yes
• Dorgan, D: No

Brown, D: No
• Voinovich, R: No

Coburn, R: No
• Inhofe, R: No

Smith, R: No
• Wyden, D: Yes

Casey, D: Yes
• Specter, R: Yes

Rhode Island
Reed, D: Yes
• Whitehouse, D: Yes

South Carolina
DeMint, R: No
• Graham, R: Yes

South Dakota
Johnson, D: Not Voting
• Thune, R: No

Alexander, R: No
• Corker, R: No

Cornyn, R: No
• Hutchison, R: No

Bennett, R: Yes
• Hatch, R: No

Leahy, D: Yes
• Sanders, I: No

Warner, R: No
• Webb, D: No

Cantwell, D: Yes
• Murray, D: Yes

West Virginia
Byrd, D: No
• Rockefeller, D: No

Feingold, D: Yes
• Kohl, D: Yes

Barrasso, R: No
• Enzi, R: No

Follow Related Topics

Search TopicE-mail Alerts

Sen. Ted Kennedy, D-Massachusetts, speaks at a news conference on Wednesday on Capitol Hill.


Cloture on the immigration bill failed 46-53.

Notably 16 Democrats voted against it and 18 Senators switched their votes from Tuesday's approved cloture.

(12 Republicans, 6 Dems)
• Sen. Jeff Bingaman, D-New Mexico
• Sen. Christopher Bond, R-Misouri
• Sen. Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio
• Sen. Sam Brownback, R-Kansas
• Sen. Richard Burr, R-North Carolina
• Sen. Norm Coleman, R-Minnesota
• Sen. Susan Collins, R-Maine
• Sen. Pete Domenici, R-New Mexico
• Sen. John Ensign, R-Nevada
• Sen. Tom Harkin, D-Iowa
• Sen. Mitch McConnell, R-Kentucky
• Sen. Ben Nelson, D-Nebraska
• Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska
• Sen. Mark Pryor, D-Arkansas
• Sen. Ted Stevens, R-Alaska
• Sen. George Voinovich, R-Ohio
• Sen. John Warner, R-Virginia
• Sen. James Webb, D-Virginia
CNN TV How To Get CNN Partner Hotels Contact Us Ad Info About Us Preferences
© 2007 Cable News Network.
A Time Warner Company. All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this service is provided to you.
Read our privacy guidelines. Contact us. Site Map.
SERVICES » E-mail RSSRSS Feed PodcastsRadio News Icon CNN Mobile CNN Pipeline
Offsite Icon External sites open in new window; not endorsed by
Pipeline Icon Pay service with live and archived video. Learn more