Skip to main content

Three physicists share Nobel prize

  • Story Highlights
  • Three scientists, one from U.S., two from Japan, share Nobel Prize for Physics
  • University of Chicago's Yoichiro Nambu wins half share of prize
  • Japan-based Makoto Kobayashi, Toshihide Maskawa win quarter share each
  • Trio recognized for work on "broken symmetry" in subatomic physics
  • Next Article in Technology »
Decrease font Decrease font
Enlarge font Enlarge font

(CNN) -- An American physicist and two physicists from Japan will share this year's Nobel Prize in Physics, the Nobel Foundation announced Tuesday.

Chicago-based Nambu won a half-share of the Nobel Prize in Physics.

Chicago-based Nambu won a half-share of the Nobel Prize in Physics.

Yoichiro Nambu of the University of Chicago will take half the prize for "the discovery of the mechanism of spontaneous broken symmetry in subatomic physics."

Makoto Kobayashi of the High Energy Accelerator Research Organization and Toshihide Maskawa of Kyoto University will each receive a quarter of the prize. They were cited for "the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry which predicts the existence of at least three families of quarks in nature."

The 514-member Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences selects the Nobel laureates in Physics from a list of candidates prepared by a special committee. Committee members consult expert advisers to select the candidates, who have all been nominated through formal letters.

  • E-mail
  • Save
  • Print
Today's Featured Product:
2011 BMW Z4 sDrive35is
 8.0 out of 10
Recent Product Reviews:
RIM BlackBerry Torch 9800 (AT&T)
 8.0 out of 10
Motorola Rambler - black (Boost Mobile)
 7.0 out of 10
Samsung UN46C6500
 6.9 out of 10