Skip to main content

New nations admitted to U.N. Security Council

  • Story Highlights
  • Turkey, Austria, Japan, Mexico, Uganda become members on U.N. Security Council
  • Five nations take rotating membership alongside permanent members
  • Iran and Iceland among nations which failed to win enough votes
  • Next Article in World »
From CNN Senior U.N. Correspondent Richard Roth
Decrease font Decrease font
Enlarge font Enlarge font

UNITED NATIONS (CNN) -- Iran and Iceland lost their bids Friday to win two of five rotating member seats on the U.N. Security Council.

Don't Miss

Iran is under U.N. sanctions for its nuclear program, and Iceland is having financial problems.

The seats were won by Turkey, Austria, Japan, Mexico and Uganda after a vote by the 192-member General Assembly.

Representatives from those countries will replace Belgium, Indonesia, Italy, Panama and South Africa in January.

Ten of the 15-member council's seats are filled for two-year terms.

The other five are occupied by permanent members Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States.

All About

  • E-mail
  • Save
  • Print