Skip to main content

India identifies Mumbai attackers

  • Story Highlights
  • Indian authorities release identities of 10 gunmen responsible for Mumbai attacks
  • Attackers' names, detailed where they lived in Pakistan, and locations they struck
  • Officials also release images of men who investigators say were all in 20s
  • Next Article in World »
Decrease font Decrease font
Enlarge font Enlarge font

NEW DELHI, India (CNN) -- Indian authorities in Mumbai have released the identities of the 10 gunmen responsible for the three-day siege in India's financial capital that killed more than 160 people, according to CNN's partner network CNN-IBN.

Mohammed Ajmal Amir Kasab alias "Abu Mujahid" is the only surviving gunman.

According to CNN-IBN, the Mumbai Crime Branch detailed the attackers' names, where they lived in Pakistan, and the locations of where authorities believe they carried out their assault.

They also released images of the men who investigators say were all in their 20s.

Here is the list of the alleged gunmen and the locations in Mumbai that Indian investigators say they attacked, according to CNN-IBN:

Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (CST)/Victoria Terminus train station

1. Mohammed Ajmal Amir Kasab alias "Abu Mujahid" of Okara village, Punjab Province, Pakistan. Kasab, 21, has been previously identified by Mumbai's police chief. He is the only surviving attacker and is in government custody.

2. Ismail Khan alias "Abu Ismail" from Dera Ismail Khan, Pakistan

Taj Hotel

3. Hafeez Arshad alias "Abdul Rehman Bada" from Multan, Pakistan

4. Javed alias "Abu Ali," also from Okara

5. Shoaib alias "Soaib" from Narowal Sialkot, Pakistan

6. Nazeer alias "Abu Umera" from Faizalabad, Pakistan

Chabad House/Nariman House

7. Nasir alias "Abu Umar" also from Faizalabad

8. Babbar Imran alias "Abu Aqasha" also from Multan

Hotel Oberoi-Trident


9. Abdul Rehman alias "Abdul Rehman Chota" of Arafwala, Multan Road, Pakistan

10. Fahadullah alias "Abu Fahad" of Bipalpur Taluka, Okara, Pakistan.

All About PakistanBenazir BhuttoIndiaAsif Ali Zardari

  • E-mail
  • Save
  • Print