Latest Formula One standings

Sebastian Vettel claimed his third straight Formula One title following a sixth place finish in Brazil.

Story highlights

  • Sebastian Vettel wins third straight Formula One title
  • Ferrari's Fernando Alonso finishes second just three points behind
  • Kimi Raikkonen claims third position
  • Red Bull clinch third constructors' title

Sebastian Vettel claimed a third successive Formula One crown after defeating Fernando Alonso by three points.

The Red Bull star claimed a sixth place finish in Brazil to become the youngest ever triple world champion in the history of the sport.

Alonso, who finished second at Interlagos behind McLaren's Jenson Button, missed out on a third title of his own following his triumphs back in 2005 and 2006.

Kimi Raikkonen ended his first season back in Formula One by claiming third spot, while Lewis Hamilton will head off to Mercedes having finished fourth.

Meanwhile, Red Bull won the Constructors' championship by 60 points from Ferrari.

2012 drivers' final standings:

1. Sebastian Vettel - Red Bull 281

2. Fernando Alonso - Ferrari 278

3. Kimi Raikkonen - Lotus 207

4. Lewis Hamilton - McLaren 190

5. Jenson Button - McLaren 188

6. Mark Webber - Red Bull 179

7. Felipe Massa - Ferrari 122

8. Romain Grosjean - Lotus 96

9. Nico Rosberg - Mercedes 93

10 Sergio Perez - Sauber 66

Constructors' standings:

1. RedBull - Renault 460

2. Ferrari 400

3. McLaren - Mercedes 378

4. Lotus - Renault 303

5. Mercedes 142

6. Sauber - Ferrari 126

      F1 teams and drivers for 2012

    • Red Bull

      If the last two years are anything to go by, 2012 will once again see every other team and driver trying to keep pace with Red Bull.
    • McLaren

      Britain's McLaren are the third most successful team in F1 history, with their eight constructors' titles only bettered by Williams and Ferrari.
    • Ferrari

      Ferrari are the most successful team in Formula One history, with the legendary Italian marque boasting a record 31 world titles.
    • Mercedes

      Having taken over the world champion Brawn GP team ahead of the 2010 season, Mercedes have struggled to be serious title contenders.
    • Lotus

      Having competed under the Renault name in 2011, the rebranded Lotus team enter the new season hoping to avoid last year's off-track issues.
    • Williams

      Williams' form in recent years has not been befitting of a team boasting one of Formula One's richest legacies.
    • Sauber

      Sauber have been involved in F1 since 1993, but arguably the team's greatest contribution to the sport has been handing a debut to Sebastian Vettel.
    • Force India

      Force India entered the elite division of motorsport when Vijay Mallya and Michiel Mol purchased the now-defunct Spyker team in 2007.
    • Toro Rosso

      Last year Toro Rosso continued to emerge from Red Bull Racing's shadow in only their second season as an independent constructor.
    • Caterham

      It's been a preseason of change at CNN-sponsored Caterham, having been rebranded after competing under the Lotus name for the past two years.
    • HRT

      Initially known as Campos Meta 1 and then Hispania Racing, the HRT team are still seeking stability after a less than spectacular entrance into F1 in 2010.
    • Marussia

      The rebranded Marussia team were plagued with problems in the buildup to the 2012 season as the MR01 failed the final official crash test.