Cookie consent

We use cookies to improve your experience on this website. By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of cookies. Tell me more | Cookie preferences

Five things to watch at the Olympics on Tuesday

Story highlights

  • Gymnastics has four finals, including the women's floor competition
  • Any one of three Kenyan men could take 1,500-meter final
  • Neymar seeks to add to growing fame, lead Brazil to men's football final
  • Chris Hoy aims to become Britain's top gold medal winner of all time

It's a big day at track and field, topped by the always exciting men's 1,500-meter final. In other notable events, several athletes say farewell to the London Games while others look for one more shot at glory.

Here are five things to look for Tuesday at the 2012 London Games:

1. Women's gymnastics floor: Wieber's last chance

Jordyn Wieber of the United States didn't have a chance for an all-around gold, but Tuesday she could medal in her last event of these Games. She takes part in the floor competition, where she scored a 15.000 during the team competition. Her teammate Aly Raisman also has podium hopes and comes into the event having scored the best marks in the event at the London Olympics.

Phelps: "I'm done with swimming"

Michael Phelps' favorite things...

    Just Watched

    Michael Phelps' favorite things...

Michael Phelps' favorite things... 02:06
PLAY VIDEO
Olympic Gold 1st, next meet Prince Harry

    Just Watched

    Olympic Gold 1st, next meet Prince Harry

Olympic Gold 1st, next meet Prince Harry 02:19
PLAY VIDEO
Jordan's female boxers fight hijab ban

    Just Watched

    Jordan's female boxers fight hijab ban

Jordan's female boxers fight hijab ban 04:18
PLAY VIDEO

Event begins at 4:23 p.m. London time (11:23 a.m. ET)

2. Men's 1,500 meters: Could be a Kenyan sweep

Kenyan Asbel Kiprop, who won the 1,000 meters in Beijing at age 19, has run the best time in the world this year, but will be tested by countrymen Silas Kiplagat and Nixon Chebseba. Also keep an eye on Algeria's Taoufik Makhloufi, who was reinstated after the governing body of track and field originally had expelled him from the Games for failing to race hard in his 800-meter heat. A doctor's note convinced the IAAF that Makhloufi has a knee injury.

From war child to Olympics star

Event begins at 9:15 p.m. London time (4:15 p.m. ET)

3. Men's soccer: Final four time

One Japanese team is already in a football final, now the men hope to equal the women's side, with a win over Mexico in the Olympic semifinals. Giovani dos Santos is the top offensive threat for Mexico, which entered the tournament as one of the medal favorites. Brazil faces South Korea in the other match. Brazil has scored three goals in each of its four wins, and is led by Neymar, one of the most exciting young players in the world.

Dramatic win for U.S. women in soccer

Mexico plays Japan at 5 p.m. London time (noon ET) while the South Korea-Brazil match starts at 7:45 p.m. London time (2:45 p.m. ET)

4. Beach volleyball: Can top-ranked team spring an upset?

Misty May-Treanor and Kerri Walsh Jennings made news at this tournament when they lost a set. Not a match, a set. The two-time defending champs face Zhang Xi and Xue Chen of China, the top-ranked team in the world, in one contest. Despite the Chinese pair's ranking, most experts are picking the U.S. greats to win. In the other match, Brazil's Juliana and Larissa, second in the world ratings, will play Americans April Ross and Jennifer Kessy.

Women's semifinals begin at 6 p.m. London time (1 p.m. ET)

5. Men's Cycling: Keirin on

Chris Hoy of Great Britain wants to wrap up his Olympic track cycling career by defending his title in the keirin and breaking a British mark for golds. Hoy is tied with rower Steve Redgrave for a Team GB record five gold medals. Keirin events feature six racers being paced for 5 ½ laps then sprinting for 2 ½ laps on the velodrome track. Crashes in final curve are not uncommon as the pack heads for the finish line.

The final is scheduled for 5:57 p.m. London time (12:57 p.m. ET)