CNN leading women 2014

Editor’s Note: Leading Women connects you to extraordinary women of our time – remarkable professionals who have made it to the top in all areas of business, the arts, sport, culture, science and more.

Story highlights

CNN are on the hunt for 2014's leading women.

We want to hear about your public figures and future stars from a range of professions.

We want women from science, technology, fashion, politics, medicine and the arts

The deadline for nominations is 17 December 2014.

CNN  — 

CNN International are on the hunt for the Leading Women of 2014.

We want to know which public figures or rising stars have caught your eye this year and deserve accolade for being an extraordinary woman of our time.

In 2014, we saw teenager Malala Yousafzai jointly receive the Nobel Peace Prize for her incredible “struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education”. After surviving a shot in the head by Taliban gunmen, Yousafzi has fought for the rights of girls to an education, become a leading spokesperson for women’s rights, and is setting an example for women and girls around the globe.

The topic of feminism was brought back into conversation by actress Emma Watson who also became the UN Women Goodwill Ambassador and called on women and men alike to reclaim “feminism” to benefit all.

2014 Oscar-winner Lupita N’yongo’s role in “12 Years a Slave” brought her firmly into the limelight in which she now sits comfortably as both a style icon and role model.

These three, are just a few of the women who have excelled in 2014 and as the year draws to a close, we want to know who else deserves to be hailed for their accomplishments over the past year. We want women spanning a range of professions to be recognized from science and technology, to fashion, politics, sport, medicine and the arts.

Do you know a rising star in your field?

Has someone in the public eye this year impressed you?

Let us know in the comments box below.

The deadline for nominations is 17 December 2014.