Home
AllPolitics
 

 Home
 News
 Analysis
 Community
 CNN.com

Investigating the President

 Bowles Testifies Before Grand Jury (04-02-98)

 White House Supports News Media's Request (04-01-98)

 Starr Investigation Costs Just Shy of $30 Million (04-01-98)

 Landow Not A Clinton Confidant (03-27-98)

 More Stories...


Transcript

 Ken Starr Discusses His Investigation (04-02-98)

 More Transcripts...


Polls

 Lewinsky Father: Executive Privilege Will Prolong Daughter's Suffering (03-23-98)

 More Polls...


Documents

 Legal Documents Released In The Jones v. Clinton Case

 The Willey-Clinton Letters

 The Julie Steele Affidavit


Video On Demand

 CNN Special: What Do We Know? (03-13-98)

 More...


Voter's Voice

 Starr vb. Clinton (03-24-98)

 More...


Timeline/Players

 A Chronology: Key Moments In The Clinton-Lewinsky Scandal

 Cast of Characters In The Clinton-Lewinsky Scandal


Interact

 Community: Debate the scandal on the AllPolitics messageboard.


Search


  Help
Reload often for latest news

White House Scandal At A Glance: Feb. 13

Today's developments:

  • Government sources say the Justice Department and the Treasury Department are at odds over how to deal with requests from Independent Counsel Ken Starr for Secret Service personnel, past and present, to testify before the Whitewater grand jury.

  • Former Clinton aide Stephen Goodin has been subpoenaed by Starr to appear before the grand jury, sources tell CNN. Goodin recently left his post as "aide to the president," the staffer who travels at the president's side to carry his personal papers and keep him abreast of scheduling and logistics matters. Goodin is soon to leave the White House for a job with USA Network.

  • The White House has decided not to make senior administration officials available for Sunday news shows this weekend to discuss the Monica Lewinsky controversy, because it believes Starr's recent actions have generated negative public reaction on their own. "Starr is pouring gasoline on his head and lighting the matches himself," one advisor said.

  • The questioning of Monica Lewinsky's mother, Marcia Lewis, before the grand jury included asking her to respond to tape-recorded conversations in which her daughter talks of an alleged sexual relationship with President Bill Clinton, CNN has learned. The playing of the tapes may have been a major factor in Lewis' distress during her Wednesday testimony.

View a previous 'At A Glance'

Thursday, Feb. 12
Wednesdsay, Feb. 11
Tuesday, Feb. 10
Monday, Feb. 9
Friday, Feb. 6
Thursday, Feb. 5
Wednesday, Feb. 4
Tuesday, Feb. 3
Friday, Jan. 30
Thursday, Jan. 29
Wednesday, Jan. 28
Tuesday, Jan. 27
Monday, Jan. 26
Sunday, Jan. 25
Saturday, Jan. 24
Friday, Jan. 23
Thursday, Jan. 22
In Other News

Friday February 13, 1998

Agreement Reached For Ex-Secret Service Officer's Testimony
Lieberman Frustrated By Allies' Reluctance To Back Iraq Strike
White House Scandal At A Glance
White House Aides Will Skip Sunday's Talk Shows
Satcher Sworn In As Surgeon General
Babbitt Cheered By Interior Employees
Clinton Pushes For Tobacco Settlement





Barnes & Noble book search

Archives   |   CQ News   |   TIME On Politics   |   Feedback   |   Help

Copyright © 1998 AllPolitics All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this information is provided to you.
Read our privacy guidelines.
Who we are.