Home
AllPolitics
 

 Home
 News
 Analysis
 Community
 CNN.com

Investigating the President

 Bowles Testifies Before Grand Jury (04-02-98)

 White House Supports News Media's Request (04-01-98)

 Starr Investigation Costs Just Shy of $30 Million (04-01-98)

 Landow Not A Clinton Confidant (03-27-98)

 More Stories...


Transcript

 Ken Starr Discusses His Investigation (04-02-98)

 More Transcripts...


Polls

 Lewinsky Father: Executive Privilege Will Prolong Daughter's Suffering (03-23-98)

 More Polls...


Documents

 Legal Documents Released In The Jones v. Clinton Case

 The Willey-Clinton Letters

 The Julie Steele Affidavit


Video On Demand

 CNN Special: What Do We Know? (03-13-98)

 More...


Voter's Voice

 Starr vb. Clinton (03-24-98)

 More...


Timeline/Players

 A Chronology: Key Moments In The Clinton-Lewinsky Scandal

 Cast of Characters In The Clinton-Lewinsky Scandal


Interact

 Community: Debate the scandal on the AllPolitics messageboard.


Search


  Help
&nsbp;

White House Scandal At A Glance: Feb. 24

Today's developments:

  • White House communications aide Sidney Blumenthal left the Monica Lewinsky grand jury Tuesday afternoon without testifying. Blumenthal was scheduled to testify in the afternoon, after losing a motion to quash his subpoena earlier in the day.

  • Whitewater private investigator Terry F. Lenzner appeared before the grand jury Tuesday. Lenzner was ordered to bring along any documents relating to investigations of Starr and his deputies, according to sources.

  • Clinton's private lawyers, David Kendall and Robert Bennett, defended their use of a private investigator as appropriate and denied investigating Joseph DiGenova or Victoria Toesing.

  • White House scheduling aide Jennifer Palmieri appeared before the grand jury. Palmieri worked as a scheduler and executive assistant to former Chief of Staff Leon Panetta. In that position, she supervised Lewinsky when she was a White House intern working in Panetta's office.

  • Marsha Scott, a Clinton friend, was also called to testify. Scott is deputy assistant to the president and chief of staff of presidential personnel.

  • Jocelyn Jolley,, who worked with Lewinsky in the legislative coordination office at the White House, and was dismissed the same day as Lewinsky, gave testimony Tuesday.

  • Sources say Starr also tried to subpoena former Commerce Secretary Mickey Kantor, but backed off after the White House objected on grounds that Kantor is now the first family's private attorney and as such enjoys attorney-client privilege.

  • The president of a Northern Virginia chapter of the National Organization for Women (NOW) says its members are ready to break from the main organization because they say the national leadership has been too easy on President Clinton over his alleged sexual improprieties.

    View a previous 'At A Glance'

    Friday, Feb. 20
    Thursday, Feb. 19
    Wednesday, Feb. 18
    Tuesday, Feb. 17
    Monday, Feb. 16
    Friday, Feb. 13
    Thursday, Feb. 12
    Wednesday, Feb. 11
    Tuesday, Feb. 10
    Monday, Feb. 9
    Friday, Feb. 6
    Thursday, Feb. 5
    Wednesday, Feb. 4
    Tuesday, Feb. 3
    Friday, Jan. 30
    Thursday, Jan. 29
    Wednesday, Jan. 28
    Tuesday, Jan. 27
    Monday, Jan. 26
    Sunday, Jan. 25
    Saturday, Jan. 24
    Friday, Jan. 23
    Thursday, Jan. 22
In Other News

Tuesday Feb. 24, 1998

Senate Divided On Campaign Finance Bill
Jones' Lawyers Get Extension
White House Aide Leaves Without Testifying
NOW Chapter Takes Aim At Clinton
Clinton Says U.S. Will Watch Iraq Closely
White House Scandal At A Glance





Barnes & Noble book search

Archives   |   CQ News   |   TIME On Politics   |   Feedback   |   Help

Copyright © 1998 AllPolitics All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this information is provided to you.
Read our privacy guidelines.
Who we are.