CNN logo


Main banner

'Babyface' leads Grammy nominations

grammy logo

Announcement follows Web page leak

January 7, 1997
Web posted at: 10:40 a.m. EST

NEW YORK (CNN) -- The Grammy award nominations are out -- officially, after a premature leak on the World Wide Web -- and Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds leads the pack with a record-tying 12 nominations.

Although the nominees for the music industry's top awards were not scheduled to be announced until 8:40 a.m. EST Tuesday, Web surfers got an overnight sneak peek Monday at the official list on the Web page of the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences. The Web page was removed before the announcement of the nominees.

Bluesman B.B. King, folk artist Suzanne Vega, saxophonist David Sanborn and other artists made the official announcement from the Ed Sullivan Theater Tuesday morning.

Smashing Pumpkins

In addition to Edmonds' 12 nominations, grunge band Smashing Pumpkins took seven (including Album of the Year, Record of the Year and Rock Group), Tracy Chapman (Record of the Year and Song of the Year) and country artist Vince Gill received five, and Celine Dion, David Foster, Tony Rich and Pierre Boulez received four each.

Edmonds' 12 nominations tied the record for Grammy nominations in a year, set by Michael Jackson for his 1983 "Thriller" project. Edmonds, a popular producer, songwriter and recording artist, has won six Grammys, including last year's Producer of the Year.

Other nominations include:

  • "Odelay"-- Beck
  • "Falling into You"-- Celine Dion
  • "The Score"-- Fugees
  • "Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness"-- The Smashing Pumpkins
  • "Waiting to Exhale"--Soundtrack
  • "Give Me One Reason"--Tracy Chapman
    icon (68K/6 sec. AIFF or WAV sound)
  • "Change The World"--Eric Clapton
    icon (114K/5 sec. AIFF or WAV sound)
  • "Because You Loved Me"--Celine Dion
    icon (68K/6 sec. AIFF or WAV sound)
  • "Ironic"--Alanis Morissette
    icon (59K/5 sec. AIFF or WAV sound)
  • "1979"--Smashing Pumpkins
  • Garbage
    icon (2M/22 sec. AIFF or WAV sound)
  • Jewel
  • No Doubt
  • Tony Rich Project
  • LeAnn Rimes
    icon (1.8M/22 sec. AIFF or WAV sound)

The winners will be announced at the 39th annual awards presentation on February 26, broadcast live from Madison Square Garden. Comic Ellen DeGeneres will host the show.


Related story:

Related sites:

Note: Pages will open in a new browser window

External sites are not endorsed by CNN Interactive.

To the top

© 1997 Cable News Network, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

Terms under which this service is provided to you.