U.S. Edition
CNN.com Home Page -



1995 - 2008 Finalists and Winners

Eighth CNN African Journalist Of The Year Competition Expands To Include Tourism Award

For release: 29 November 2002

CNN and South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) announce launch of 2003 competition

The launch of the eighth CNN African Journalist of the Year Competition, held in partnership with the SABC, sees the addition of the new South African Airways Tourism Award.

The Francophone Award has also been expanded to include the FreePress Africa Award.

"The CNN African Journalist of the Year Award now in its eighth year, has truly come to represent the best in African Journalism. The inclusion of a Francophone category last year rendered the competition truly Pan-African and fully representative of the range and diversity of Africa's journalism talent; the category has been further expanded to include the FreePress Africa entries. This year we are also proud to announce the addition of a new South African Airways Tourism Award which reflects the importance of and interest in this growing industry throughout Africa," said Chris Cramer, president of CNN International Networks.

Entrants have until 21 February 2003 to send in their work. The winners will be recognised at a gala awards ceremony to be held at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg, South Africa on 18 June 2003. The CNN African Journalist of the Year Award has become the most prestigious and highly coveted journalistic accolade on the continent.

Judging of the entries will take place in April 2003 by the judging panel, comprising Chairperson Dr. Doyinsola Abiola, Managing Editor/Editor-in-Chief, Concord Press, Nigeria; John Battersby - Group Political Editor Independent Newspapers; Jerri Eddings, Director of FAME; Jeff Koinange, CNN Lagos Bureau Chief; Joel Kibazo, Director of Information and Public Affairs for the Commonwealth Secretariat; Jimi Matthews, Head of Television News SABC and Maimouna Mills Executive Producer/Host, "Up Close with Maimouna Mills."

The competition is held in association with South African Airways, the official airline sponsor; The Westcliff Hotel, Johannesburg (part of the Orient-Express collection of luxury hotels) the official hotel sponsor, and Multichoice. Other prestigious sponsors include The Sandton Convention Centre, Johannesburg (the gala dinner venue); IPP Media Group, Tanzania; Merck, Sharp & Dohme (MSD); Global Media Alliance, Johnnic Publishing, This Day, Camerapix, and The Freedom Forum.

During the last year, CNN has demonstrated its continued commitment to and investment in the African continent with its half-hour weekly window on all things African, 'Inside Africa' which has undergone a complete redesign and the introduction of a revitalised business segment 'On the Money'. Programming from Africa in 2002 has included in-depth coverage of the World Summit on Sustainable Development in Johannesburg; incisive coverage of the attempted coup d'etat in the Côte d'Ivoire; as well as numerous interviews with African heads of state, including Libyan President, Muammar Ghaddafi, South African President Thabo Mbeki, Liberian Foreign Minister, Monie Captan, and former Ivorian Foreign Minister Amara Essy.

"The SABC has been co-hosting this initiative since 1998 and is committed to working with our partners, especially in Africa to strengthen and increase the recognition and rewards for excellence in the profession of Journalism. This joint initiative aims to reinforce the importance of the journalist's role in Africa, and to recognise and nurture journalistic talent across all disciplines. We believe that it makes a significant contribution towards the development and understanding of the continent", said Peter Matlare, Group Chief Executive, South African Broadcasting Corporation.

"As a long standing and active broadcaster in Africa, CNN is committed to cataloguing the continent's vast and often complex story through our four African bureaux. The CNN African Journalist of the Year Competition is an integral part of our commitment to the region and underlines our support of the indigenous journalistic profession. Through this platform and with the increased output of our own on-air programming and newsgathering efforts, we hope to bring the unfolding events of the continent to greater prominence for our global audience," added Cramer.

Winner of this year's overall CNN African Journalist of the Year Award was Susan Purén (Carte Blanche for M-Net/DSTV), who was chosen among entrants from 26 nations across the African continent for her story, 'China, War Child'. Other countries fielding winning entries this year were Kenya, Ghana, Côte d'Ivoire, Uganda, Nigeria and Malawi.

CNN has four bureaux on the African continent, in Cairo, Johannesburg, Lagos and Nairobi. CNN International's service for Africa/Middle East/Europe is available to 15 million households in Africa and features 50 hours of new programming specifically produced for the region.

More information about the CNN African Journalist of the Year Competition can be found at www.cnn.com/africa/africanawards


Seema Alibhai
Tel: +44 207 693 0940 / Fax: +44 207 693 0949/email: seema.alibhai@turner.com
Cellphone: (44) 7970 77 77 97

Contact in South Africa:
Communications Services, Barbara Bester
Tel: +27 11 463 1011/ Fax: +27 11 463 1323/email: commserv@icon.co.za

Entry forms are available from Kevin Talbot on +44 207 693 0846/fax: +44 207 693 0847/email: kevin.talbot@turner.com

Note to Editors: Competition Criteria The CNN African Journalist of the Year competition is open to professional journalists/technicians (including freelancers), born in Africa, working on the African continent for media organisations that are African-owned or principally based in the region, or publish a publication in Africa which is targeted at an African audience for reception within Africa.

Up to two entries per category published or broadcast in 2002 can be submitted (in print, TV and radio) for the following awards: Television-General News; Television Current Affairs, Francophone General News; Sport; Arts & Culture; Environment; Tourism; Print Journalist; Radio Journalist; Business/; Health & Medical; and FreePress Africa Award. The Mohamed Amin Photographic Award requirements include, an individual photograph or a photographic essay (maximum 5 photographs) to be submitted, both black and white and colour accepted.

CNN TV E-mail Services CNN Mobile CNNAvantGo Ad Info About Us Preferences
© 2007 Cable News Network LP, LLLP.
A Time Warner Company. All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this service is provided to you.
Read our privacy guidelines. Contact us. Site Map.
Offsite Icon External sites open in new window; not endorsed by CNN.com
Pipeline Icon Pay service with live and archived video. Learn more
Radio News Icon Download audio news  |  RSS Feed Add RSS headlines