Latest F1 standings after Singapore GP

Sebastian Vettel will become Formula One's youngest double world champion with a point in Japan.

Story highlights

  • Sebastian Vettel's ninth win takes him within one point of the title
  • The Red Bull driver can seal his second triumph at Japanese Grand Prix
  • McLaren's Jenson Button climbs above Fernando Alonso into second place
  • Champions Red Bull extend their lead at the top of the constructors' standings
Sebastian Vettel sealed his ninth win of the 2011 Formula One season in Singapore on Sunday, and the Red Bull driver is now just one point away from becoming the sport's youngest double world champion.
The German extended his lead at the top of the drivers' standings to 124 points, with McLaren's Jenson Button moving into second position after finishing runner-up at the Marina Bay circuit.
The 24-year-old can now wrap up the world championship at the Japanese Grand Prix at Suzuka on October 9, which is race 15 of 19.
Ferrari's Fernando Alonso dropped one position into third and the Spaniard is now only two points clear of Vettel's teammate Mark Webber in fourth, after the Australian claimed the final podium spot in Singapore.
Button's McLaren colleague and fellow Briton Lewis Hamilton lost ground on those above him after a disappointing fifth-place finish, the same position he occupies in the world championship.
In the race for the constructors' title, Red Bull continued to assert their dominance by moving 138 points clear at the top of the pile.
McLaren consolidated their position in second, with Ferrari a further 85 points back in third position.
Drivers' standings after round 14 in Singapore:
1. Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Red Bull 309 points
2. Jenson Button (GB) McLaren 185
3. Fernando Alonso (Spa) Ferrari 184
4. Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull 182
5. Lewis Hamilton (GB) McLaren 168
6. Felipe Massa (Bra) Ferrari 84
7. Nico Rosberg (Ger) Mercedes 62
8. Michael Schumacher (Ger) Mercedes 52
9. Vitaly Petrov (Rus) Renault 34
Constructors' standings:
1. Red Bull 451 points
2. McLaren 325
3. Ferrari 254
4. Mercedes 108
5. Lotus Renault 70
6. Force India 36
7. Sauber 35
8. Toro Rosso 29
9. Williams 5