ICC stands down 'sting' umpires

The West Indies ermerged victorious from the fourth T20 World Cup.

Story highlights

  • ICC will not select six officials accused of corruption for international duty
  • An India TV sting alleged half-a-dozen officials were willing to fix T20 World Cup matches
  • Two of the officials from Pakistan, two from Bangladesh while two are Sri Lankan
  • None of the officials accused were involved in matches at the 20-over tournament
Six umpires accused of corruption in an Indian television sting will not be considered for selection, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed.
The ICC launched an "urgent" investigation on Monday following an India TV expose which alleged certain officials were willing to fix matches at the recent T20 World Cup in exchange for payment.
Two of the accused umpires are Pakistani, two are from Bangladesh and another two are from Sri Lanka -- where the 20-over tournament was held.
None of the officials featured in the show were involved in matches at the tournament, which was won by the West Indies on Sunday.
"The International Cricket Council (ICC) and its relevant full member boards have agreed not to appoint any of the umpires named in a sting operation recently conducted by India TV to any domestic or international cricket matches pending the outcome of the ongoing investigations into the allegations made.," said an ICC statement.
"The officials named are not contracted by the ICC and those Boards who employ and nominate the umpires directly will conduct the investigations as a matter of urgency."
One of the two Pakistani officials is the only member of the six on the ICC's elite panel. He last took charge of an international match in November 2010.
A 48-year-old Bangladeshi umpire has officiated 40 one-day matches and three T20 contests.
In November 2011, three Pakistan players were jailed for accepting money to deliberately bowl "no balls" in a Test match against England.
Former captain Salman Butt and bowlers Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Amir were also banned from international cricket for five years.