Wimbledon Fast Facts

Simona Halep of Romania poses for a photo with the trophy after winning the Ladies' Singles final against Serena Williams of The United States during Day twelve of The Championships - Wimbledon 2019 at All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club on July 13, 2019, in London, England.

(CNN)Here's a look at the Wimbledon tennis championships.

June 28-July 11, 2021 - Wimbledon takes place in London.
April 1, 2020 - It is announced that this year's Wimbledon has been canceled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

    2021 Results

      Novak Djokovic defeats Matteo Berrettini of Italy 6-7 (4-7) 6-4 6-4 6-3 in the men's final, to win his sixth Wimbledon title.
      Ashleigh Barty of Australia defeats Karolina Pliskova of the Czech Republic 6-3 6-7 (4-7) 6-3 in the women's final, to win her first Wimbledon title.

      2019 Results

      Novak Djokovic of Serbia defeats Roger Federer 7-6 (7-5) 1-6 7-6 (7-4) 4-6 13-12 (7-3) in the men's final, to win his fifth Wimbledon title.
      Simona Halep of Romania defeats Serena Williams 6-2 6-2 in the women's final to win her first Wimbledon title. She is also the first Romanian to win the tournament.

      Other Facts

      Wimbledon is one of four Grand Slam tennis tournaments. The others are the Australian Open, the French Open and the US Open.
      Wimbledon takes place at the All England Lawn Tennis Club in London.
      Wimbledon is the only Grand Slam event that is still played on grass.


      Most singles wins (male) - Roger Federer with eight.
      Most singles wins (female) - Martina Navratilova with nine.
      Longest tennis match ever played (any tournament) - At the 2010 tournament, John Isner defeated Nicolas Mahut in a match that lasted 11 hours and five minutes over three days. The final set took 138 games (at the time there were no tie-breakers in 5th sets at Wimbledon and a player had to win by two games). The final score: 6-4, 3-6, 6-7 (7), 7-6 (3), 70-68.


      1868 - The All England Croquet Club is founded. The grounds are located off Worple Road in London's suburb of Wimbledon.
      1877 - The name is changed to the All England Croquet and Lawn Tennis Club and the first Lawn Tennis Championship is held.
      1882 - "Croquet" is dropped from the club's moniker, as the sport declines in popularity. It is reinstated in 1899.
      1915-1918 - Wimbledon is suspended during World War I.
      1922 - The Championships move to Church Road, Wimbledon's current location.
      1940-1945 - Wimbledon is suspended during World War II.
      October 2018 - The The All England Lawn Tennis & Croquet Club (AELTC) Committee introduces a final-set tiebreak rule that begins when players are tied at 12-12 in the fifth set [third set for women].
        July 2019 - AELTC implements the new final-set tiebreak rule and it is used for first time during the men's championship final.
        April 27, 2021 - AELTC announces the Championships will become a 14-day tournament starting in 2022, with matches set to be played on Middle Sunday. Middle Sunday is traditionally a day off at the Wimbledon Championships.