Arab League Fast Facts

(L to R) Egyptian Foreign Minister Sameh Shoukry, Saudi Foreign Minister Adel al-Jubeir, Bahrain Foreign Minister Shaikh Khalid Bin Ahmed Al-Khalifa and UAE Minister of State for Foreign Affairs Anwar Gargash (R) attend a meeting with Secretary-General of the Arab League Ahmed Aboul Gheit (2nd-R) at the Arab League headquarters in the Egyptian capital Cairo on November 19, 2017.

(CNN)Here's a look at the Arab League, an organization of Middle Eastern and African countries and the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO).


Ahmed Aboul Gheit of Egypt is the current secretary-general of the Arab League.
    There are also four observer states: Eritrea, India, Brazil and Venezuela.
      The Arab League's purpose, from the Pact of the League of Arab States, is to promote closer political, economic, cultural and social relations among the members.
      A council composed of representatives from the member states works together to settle disputes peacefully. The league has five major committees: political, economic, social and cultural, legal and Palestinian affairs.
      Each member has one vote on the council. Decisions are only binding to the states that have voted for them.


        March 22, 1945 - The Arab League is created in Cairo with seven Arab countries - Iraq, Saudi Arabia, the Lebanese Republic, Yemen (Sanaa), Transjordan (now Jordan), Egypt and Syria.
        Since 1945, 16 other members have joined - Libya (1953), Sudan (1956), Morocco (1958), Tunisia (1958), Kuwait (1961), Algeria (1962), Yemen (Aden, 1968), Bahrain (1971), Oman (1971), Qatar (1971), United Arab Emirates (1971), Mauritania (1973), Somalia (1974), the PLO (1976), Djibouti (1977) and Comoros (1993).
        April 13, 1950 - League members sign an agreement on joint defense and economic cooperation.
        1959 - The league holds the first Arab petroleum congress.
        1964 - The league organizes the Arab League Education, Cultural and Scientific Organization (ALECSO).
        1976 - ARABSAT, an Arab communications satellite system, is formed.
        March 26, 1979 - Egypt signs a peace treaty with Israel. The league suspends Egypt's membership and transfers its headquarters from Cairo to Tunis, Tunisia.
        1989 - Egypt is readmitted to the league; later the headquarters is moved back to Cairo.
        1990 - Yemen (Aden) and Yemen (Sanaa) unite as Yemen.
        August 1990 - The league is divided over the invasion of Kuwait by Iraq. Members are split on a vote for a proposal to send Arab t