NEW YORK, NEW YORK - SEPTEMBER 11: Carlos Alcaraz of Spain celebrates with the championship trophy after defeating Casper Ruud of Norway during their Men's Singles Final match on Day Fourteen of the 2022 US Open at USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center on September 11, 2022 in the Flushing neighborhood of the Queens borough of New York City. (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)
CNN  — 

Here’s a look at the US Open Tennis Tournament.

It is held annually at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing, New York. It is the only Grand Slam tennis championship held in North America.

August 29-September 11, 2022 - The US Open Tennis Tournament takes place. Iga Swiatek defeates Ons Jabeur and 19-year-old Carlos Alcaraz defeats Casper Ruud, becoming the youngest world No. 1 in the history of the ATP rankings.

August 30-September 12, 2021 - The US Open Tennis Tournament takes place. Daniil Medvedev defeats Novak Djokovic and Emma Raducanu defeats Leylah Fernandez, becoming the youngest grand slam winner since Maria Sharapova won Wimbledon in 2004.

Other Facts

The US Open is one of four “Grand Slam” tournaments, along with the Australian Open, Wimbledon and the French Open.

Matches are in five categories: men’s singles and doubles, women’s singles and doubles, and mixed doubles.

Since 1978, the matches have been played on a hard-court surface covered with “DecoTurf” artificial grass.

The total prize money compensation for 2022 is $60,102,000. $2.6 million is awarded to the men’s and women’s singles champions.

Playing in Most Singles Finals

Bill Tilden (men’s) - 10 - (1918-25, 1927, 1929)

Molla B. Mallory (women’s) - 10 - (1915-18, 1920-24, 1926)

Playing in Most Doubles Finals

Fred B. Alexander - 10 - (1900, 1905-11, 1917-18)

Margaret Osbourne duPont - 15 - (1941-50, 1953-57)

Winner of Most Men’s Singles Championships

Pre-1968 - Richard Sears, Bill Tilden, Bill Larned (tied with 7)

Post-1968 - Jimmy Connors, Pete Sampras, Roger Federer (tied with 5)

Winner of Most Women’s Singles Championships

Pre-1968 - Molla B. Mallory (8)

Post-1968 - Chris Evert, Serena Williams (tied with 6)


1881 - Begins as a men’s tournament open only to members of the US National Lawn Tennis Association. The competition is held at the Newport Casino in Rhode Island. Richard Sears is the first champion.

1887 - Ellen Hansel is the first female singles winner.

1968 - The “Open Era” begins, as professionals are allowed to compete with amateurs. The name of the competition changes from the US Championships to the US Open. The first US Open singles champions are Arthur Ashe and Virginia Wade.

1973 - The US Open becomes the first Grand Slam tournament to offer equal prize money to male and female winners.

1978 - The National Tennis Center at Flushing Meadows Corona Park becomes the site of the US Open.

1997 - The stadium used for the tournament inside the USTA National Tennis Center is named Arthur Ashe Stadium.

2006 - The USTA National Tennis Center facility is renamed the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center.

2016 - A retractable roof is added to the Arthur Ashe Stadium and a new grandstand stadium is built at the USTA Tennis Center for the 2016 tournament. The additions are part of ongoing renovations announced in 2013.