MotoGP's main men

Published 1402 GMT (2202 HKT) November 19, 2013
marquez celebratesmarquez celebrates
1 of 9
Marc Marquez was a breath of fresh air for motorcycling this year, but the feats of MotoGP's youngest world champion have only reinforced the dominance of the sport's two leading teams. Mirco Lazzari gp/Getty Images
Yamaha's Jorge Lorenzo, denied a third world title by his 20-year-old compatriot, won eight of the 18 races. AFP/Getty Images
Marquez claimed six victories, while his Repsol Honda teammate Dani Pedrosa (pictured) topped the podium on three occasions.
Seven-time world champion Valentino Rossi was generally off the leading pace, but the Italian picked up one win -- at Assen -- on his return to Yamaha after two seasons at Ducati. Catrinus Van der Veen/ AFP/Getty Images
Ducati, the only other factory team in MotoGP, has signed British rider Cal Crutchlow from the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 satellite outfit in a bid to restore its ailing fortunes. PAUL CROCK/AFP/Getty Images/file
Crutchlow stepped up to the elite division after riding in the World Superbike championship in 2010, finishing fifth overall. AFP/Getty Images
Crutchlow's compatriot James Toseland struggled in two years of MotoGP racing, and dropped back to Superbikes -- where he had previously won two world titles. GLYN KIRK/AFP/Getty Images/file
Toseland told CNN that motorcycling's profile has dropped since the days when the likes of Barry Sheene (pictured in the 1970s) would socialize with Formula One peers such as James Hunt. Allsport UK/Allsport/file
Carmelo Ezpeleta, left, is CEO of Dorna -- the commercial rights holder of MotoGP and, since late 2012, World Superbikes. He is pictured with Vito Ippolito, president of motorcycling's governing body FIM.