Your guide to the World Cup in numbers

Updated 1525 GMT (2325 HKT) May 15, 2014
Rio De Janeiro AerialRio De Janeiro Aerial
1 of 18
Aerial view of the Christ the Redeemer statue atop Corcovado Hill, overlooking the Maracana stadium in Rio de Janeiro, BrazIl. The famous arena will host the World Cup final on July 13, with 32 nations competing in the tournament. VANDERLEI ALMEIDA/AFP/Getty Images
Ask many Brazilians who is the greatest footballer of all time and their answer will be simple: "Pele." The striker won three World Cups with Brazil between 1958 and 1970 and is his country's leading goalscorer with 77 goals from 92 caps. STAFF/AFP/Getty Images/file
The Brazil team of 1970, which beat Italy 4-1 in the World Cup final in Mexico, is widely regarded as the greatest of all time. Pele, a three-time World Cup winner is seen here leaping on his teammates. STF/AFP/Getty Images/file
Neymar will be the man which the Brazilian public will look to for inspiration at the 2014 World Cup. The Barcelona striker starred in the country's Confederations Cup success in July 2013 Christrophe Simon/AFP/Getty Images
Despite winning the Champions League and Spanish title with Barcelona, Argentina's Lionel Messi has yet to taste success on the international stage.
Juan Mabromata/AFP/Getty Images
Cristiano Ronaldo's hat-trick fired Portugal into the 2014 World Cup after his side defeated Sweden in the playoffs. Ronaldo is the country's joint-top scorer with Pauleta on 47 goals. Jonathan Nackstrand/Getty Images
Luis Suarez played a key role in Uruguay's run to the World Cup. The Liverpool striker was part of the squad which reached the semifinals in South Africa and scored 11 goals in qualifying. Julian Finney/Getty Images/file
Sweden's forward Zlatan Ibrahimovic will have to watch the tournament at home -- that's if he's even interested. He told reporters: "A World Cup without me is nothing to watch so it is not worthwhile to wait for the World Cup."
Jonathan Nackstrand/Getty Images
Spain is hoping to become the third country to retain the World Cup. Italy won the tournament in 1934 and 1938, while Brazil triumphed in 1958 and 1962. Andres Iniesta scored the winning goal in the 2010 final. Getty Images
Falcao will be one of the players to watch at the tournament with the Monaco striker considered to be one of the most lethal finishers in the game. Falcao scored nine goals in qualifying while his side netted 25 overall. Don Emmert/AFP/Getty Images
Belgium is one of the teams fancied to do well in Brazil. The Belgians reached the semifinals in 1986 and are expected to challenge in the later stages this time around thanks to a crop of outstanding young players. Scott Heavey/Getty Images
Cameroon is the lowest ranked team in the tournament. The Indomitable Lions are the 59th best team in the world according to FIFA. It reached the quarterfinals in 1990 where it was beaten by England. Stringer/AFP/Getty Images
Miroslav Klose, 35, looks set to feature in a fourth World Cup after helping Germany cruise through qualifying. Klose is the country's joint-top scorer on 68 goals alongside Gerd Muller. Thomas Niedermuelle/AFP/Getty Images
Bosnian football fans will flock to Brazil after their football team qualified for the World Cup for the very first time. Bosnia finished top of its group and clinched its place at the tournament courtesy of a 1-0 win over Lithuania. Elvis Barukcic
Three times the Netherlands has reached the final -- and three times it has been beaten. In 1974 it lost out to West Germany before Argentina triumphed four years later. Four years ago it was beaten 1-0 by Spain. Scott Heavey /Gettty Images
Tim Cahill needs one more goal to become Australia's top scorer. He currently has 29, leaving him level with Damian Mori. Mark Nolan/Getty Images
France became the first European team to overturn a two-goal deficit in a World Cup playoff to secure its place in Brazil. Liverpool defender Mamadou Sakho scored twice as France defeated Ukraine 3-0 on the night, 3-2 on aggregate. Franck Fife/Getty Images
Spain will be one of the favorites to win the tournament but no European side has ever won the competition in South America. Thomas Coex/AFP/Getty Images