Cristiano Ronaldo vs. Lionel Messi vs. Franck Ribery for 2013 Ballon d'Or

    Story highlights

    • Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Franck Ribery shortlisted for 2013 Ballon d'Or
    • The winner will be announced in Zurich on January 13
    • Alex Ferguson, Jupp Heynckes and Jurgen Klopp up for the coaching accolade
    • Women's winner to come from shortlist of Marta, Abby Wambach and Nadine Angerer
    Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Franck Ribery will battle it out for the FIFA Ballon d'Or, football's most prestigious individual accolade.
    Global governing body FIFA whittled down the initial 23-man list to a final shortlist of three players, with the winner set to be announced during the annual Ballon d'Or gala in Zurich on January 13.
    Barcelona and Argentina No. 10 Messi is hoping to be crowned the world's leading player for a record fifth year in a row, but he faces stiff competition from Real Madrid's Ronaldo.
    Portugal captain Ronaldo is the favorite to clinch the award for the second time in his career, having previously won it as a Manchester United player in 2008, after a year which has seen him outscore Messi while also firing his country to next year's World Cup in Brazil.
    France's Ribery was a key player in the Bayern Munich team which won a European Champions League, Bundesliga and German Cup treble in 2013.
    FIFA also announced the three men in the running for the coach of the year accolade.