Sydney Sevens: Over 70,000 fans turn out for inaugural tournament

Updated 1246 GMT (2046 HKT) February 8, 2016
Sydney sevens fans flowersSydney sevens fans flowers
1 of 9
A total of 73,313 fans turned out for the first Sevens World Series event to be held in Sydney, Australia. Daniel Munoz/Getty Images AsiaPac/Getty Images
Australia had hosted 12 previous World Series tournaments in Adelaide, Brisbane and Gold Coast. Mark Kolbe/Getty Images AsiaPac/Getty Images
New Zealand's All Blacks ran out winners with a tight 27-24 victory over Australia in the final to clinch their second consecutive title, following their win on home soil in Wellington a week earlier. Renee McKay/Getty Images AsiaPac/Getty Images
Australia led 24-22 in the closing moments but failed to hold onto possession and handed New Zealand one final chance to win, which teenager Rieko Ioane calmly capitalized on. Mark Kolbe/Getty Images AsiaPac/Getty Images
The final was played out in front of a sellout crowd of 37,095 in the Allianz Stadium. Mark Kolbe/Getty Images AsiaPac/Getty Images
Despite Australia's last-minute loss, the event was deemed a success. Several local media outlets reported a high windfall for the city and a near sellout crowd over the two days. Renee McKay/Getty Images AsiaPac/Getty Images
In contrast, last weekend's Wellington Sevens struggled to attract large crowds despite the presence of star players like Sonny Bill Williams. Wellington's contract to host a leg of the series has now expired, with the city's council and Rugby New Zealand set to decide whether or not to fund future events. The latest installment drew around 30,000 fans over two days. Renee McKay/Getty Images AsiaPac/Getty Images
Defending series champion Fiji beat South Africa 26-12 in the battle for third place in Sydney to reclaim the overall lead in the championship standings. PETER PARKS/AFP/AFP/Getty Images
Fiji was joined on 69 points by South Africa and New Zealand after the fourth round of the series. Australia is in fourth place on 54, level with quarterfinalist Argentina -- which won the plate final. PETER PARKS/AFP/AFP/Getty Images