2017 Australian Open: Scorching heat, long nights and retractable roofs

Published 1630 GMT (0030 HKT) January 12, 2017
Australian Open Heat - S030103622Australian Open Heat - S030103622
1 of 11
When you think of the Australian Open, heat comes to mind. Players, fans and officials can have a hard time coping. AFP/Getty Images
Three years ago when temperatures hit 43C (109F) in Melbourne, Frank Dancevic passed out. He was later okay, but complained of hallucinations. AP Photo/Aijaz Rahi
Roger Federer has said players have to deal with the weather -- which in this city can be fickle, with temperatures often soaring and plummeting from day to day. Ryan Pierse/Getty Images AsiaPac/Getty Images
Unlike the other three majors, the Australian Open venue is a short walk from downtown Melbourne and its charms. Scott Barbour/Getty Images AsiaPac/Getty Images
The Australian Open is the only grand slam that schedules night matches every day of the two-week tournament. Lucas Dawson/Getty Images/file
Melbourne holds the record for the latest finish at a grand slam -- in 2008, when Lleyton Hewitt completed his win over Marcos Baghdatis at 4:34 a.m. Ezra Shaw/Getty Images AsiaPac/Getty Images
The Australian Open is the only major to have three retractable roofs. Wimbledon and the US Open have one, while the French Open doesn't have any. Michael Dodge/Getty Images AsiaPac/Getty Images
Nicknamed the "Happy Slam," the Australian Open was a joyous place for first-time major winner Angelique Kerber in 2016 ... Michael Dodge/Getty Images AsiaPac/Getty Images
... and Novak Djokovic. The Serbian won his sixth Australian Open title by beating Andy Murray. PETER PARKS/AFP/AFP/Getty Images
Serena Williams, who lost to Kerber in last year's final, is seeking to claim a record 23rd major -- no one in the Open Era has won more -- in 2017. Alex Goodlett/Getty Images North America/Getty Images
Federer, who coined the term "Happy Slam," is playing his first slam since Wimbledon in July 2016 after recovering from a knee problem. The last of his four Melbourne titles came in 2010. Cameron Spencer/Getty Images AsiaPac/Getty Images