DOHA, QATAR - NOVEMBER 17: The Doha Skyline at sunrise on the fifth day of the 21st ANOC General Assembly at the Sheraton Grand Hotel on November 17, 2016 in Doha, Qatar. (Photo by Mark Runnacles/Getty Images for ANOC)
Nations cut ties with Qatar
02:43 - Source: CNN

Story highlights

Citing terrorism-related issues, Gulf Cooperation Council members sever ties

Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and the UAE among major players in diplomatic spat

CNN  — 

Nine countries have cut ties with Qatar, one of the richest states in the Middle East, calling into question the future of a powerful 36-year-old Gulf states union.

Citing issues related to terrorism, three of the six members of the Gulf Cooperation Council have severed relations with Doha – Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates. The council is viewed as one of the most influential in the Middle East

Egypt, Yemen, Mauritius, Mauritania, the Maldives and Libya’s eastern-based government have also suspended diplomatic relations.

The council is viewed as one of the most influential in the Middle East.

So who are the main players in this regional diplomatic spat?

Saudi Arabia

The kingdom, which has been ruled by the Saud family since its inception in 1932, is a close ally of the United States, but the relationship is often described as a “marriage of convenience.”

It is ruled by Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, who assumed power in early 2015.

Saudi Arabia maintains close ties with neighbor Bahrain and helped the Sunni monarchy there put down an Arab Spring uprising in 2011.

It is overwhelmingly Sunni, and Wahhabi – or Salafi as it’s also known – branch of Sunni Islam is the official state-sponsored religion.

Saudi Arabia was a longtime supporter of Egyptian leader Hosni Mubarak before his overthrow in 2011. It did not support the successor government of Mohamed Morsy and the Muslim Brotherhood.

After Morsy’s overthrow in 2013, Saudi Arabia returned its support to new President Abdel Fattah el-Sisi. It severed ties with longtime foe Iran after January 2016 attack on the Saudi Embassy in Tehran.


Bahrain, an archipelago of 33 islands off the coast of Saudi Arabia, is a constitutional monarchy with an elected legislative assembly that has been ruled by the al Khalifa family since 1783.

A former British protectorate, the country gained full independence in 1971.

For centuries, pearls were Bahrain’s biggest export and its main source of income.

In the early 1930s, though, Bahrain became the first Gulf state to find a sizable deposit of crude oil, a discovery that boosted its economy and accelerated its modernization.

Bahrain is home to the US Fifth Fleet and is a key ally of the United States.

While the majority of its citizens are Shia, it is ruled by the Sunni Khalifa family.

Bahrain’s ruling class weathered an uprising in 2011 during the Arab Spring, largely due to Saudi support, including troops.

The Obama administration signed off on the sale of F-16 fighter jets last year but included conditions tied to the human rights record of Bahrain.

The Trump administration’s State Department has signaled its intentions to move forward on the sale without the conditions.


The country saw upheavals during the Arab Spring when Mubarak, a key Saudi supporter, was forced to step down as president.

Morsy swept into power, damaging relations with Saudi Arabia, but he was deposed in a 2013 coup.

The election of Egypt’s army chief, Sisi, returned Saudi support to its North African ally.

Egypt has been a longtime US ally, but the bloody, military-backed coup in 2013 led to a moratorium on material support.

US-Egyptian relations normalized in 2015 when President Barack Obama ended the freeze on weapons shipments to the country.

Qatar is home to up to 200,000 Egyptian migrant workers. In the past, the Egyptian government hasn’t joined diplomatic action against Qatar due to the risk of repercussions relating to Egyptian nationals working in that Gulf state.

United Arab Emirates

In 1971, six Arab states – Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, Ajman, Al Fujayrah and Umm al Qaywayn – gained independence from the UK and formed a federation known as the United Arab Emirates. They were joined in 1972 by Ra’s al Khaymah.

Majority Sunni, the country is ruled by a president chosen by the seven members of the Federal Supreme Council. Khalifa bin Zayid Al-Nuhayyan is the incumbent and has ruled since 2004. There is a small Shia minority.

The UAE has largely avoided the unrest that the Arab Spring wrought on much of the region.

It has diversified significantly from the oil and natural gas wealth that brought it prominence and raised standards of living.

It’s the single largest market for US exports in the Middle East, and America