Rugby World Cup: The teams to lift the Webb Ellis trophy

Updated 1457 GMT (2257 HKT) September 9, 2019
rugby world cup gal teaserugby world cup gal tease
1 of 8
New Zealand became the first side to retain the Rugby World Cup after defeating Australia 34-17 in the final at Twickenham Stadium. Mike Hewitt/Getty Images Europe/Getty Images
The All Blacks ended a 24-year drought when they lifted the Web Ellis trophy on home soil in 2011. Here, Ma'a Nonu greets raucous crowds during the victory parade in Wellington. Phil Walter/Getty Images AsiaPac/Getty Images
South Africa claimed its second title in France in 2007, defeating England 6-15 at the Stade de France in Paris. Gallo Images/Getty Images Europe/Getty Images
England became the first -- and to this day the only -- northern hemisphere side to win the World Cup in 2003 by defeating Australia 20-17 in Sydney. Fly-half Jonny Wilkinson struck the winning drop goal in extra-time. DAMIEN MEYER/AFP/AFP/Getty Images
Australia's second World Cup victory in 1999 came eight years after its first. A 35-12 victory over France saw John Eales' side lift the trophy in Cardiff. OLIVIER MORIN/AFP/AFP/Getty Images
It's one of rugby's most iconic images -- South African President Nelson Mandela presenting the World Cup to Springbok captain Francois Pienaar in 1995. The victory helped unite the nation shortly after the end of apartheid. JEAN-PIERRE MULLER/AFP/AFP/Getty Images
Australia first tasted World Cup victory in 1991 after narrowly defeating England 12-6 in the final. Russell Cheyne/Getty Images Europe/Getty Images
The All Blacks won the inaugural Rugby World Cup on home soil in 1987. Captain David Kirk kisses the trophy following victory over France in Auckland. GEORGES GOBET/AFP/AFP/Getty Images