France to face South Korea in Women's World Cup kickoff; England drawn with Scotland

    Saturday's draw took place at La Seine Musicale in Paris.

    (CNN)Host squad France will face South Korea in the first match of the Women's World Cup when the tournament kicks off June 7 in Paris.

    England has been drawn into a competitively and geographically interesting group: The bronze medalists from last tournament are with 2015 runners-up Japan as well as rival neighbors and Women's World Cup debutants Scotland.
    And World No. 1 and defending champion United States has drawn Sweden in the group stage for the fifth straight time -- and sixth since 1991 -- in women's football's biggest event.
      The draw for the competition's eighth edition took place Saturday evening at La Seine Musicale arts center in Paris.
        Twenty-four teams were drawn into six groups for the tournament, which will be held in nine French host cities from June 7 to July 7. Each team will play each member of their group, before the top two in each group and some third-place teams advance to a knockout stage.
        The groups are (with FIFA world rankings in parentheses beside the country):

        Group A

        • France (3)
        • South Korea (14)
        • Norway (13)
        • Nigeria (39)
        If the hosts win, France would become the first nation to simultaneously hold women's and men's World Cup titles. The French men won thei World Cup in Russia earlier this year.
        The nation has seen World Cup victory on home soil before, when the men won in 1998.
        If France's women win in 2019, it will be their first major international trophy.
        Norway -- finalists in 1991 and winners in 1995 -- is backed by strong history but will be without inaugural Women's Ballon d'Or winner Ada Hegerberg, who stepped back from international duty last year.
        Norway starts its tournament against Nigeria in Reims on June 8.

        Group B

        • Germany (2)
        • China (15)
        • Spain (12)
        • South Africa (48)
        Two-time champion Germany starts with China on June 8 in Rennes.
        Spain begins its campaign against South Africa, one of four World Cup newcomers, June 8 in Le Havre.

        Group C

        • Australia (6)
        • Italy (16)
        • Brazil (10)
        • Jamaica (53)
        Australia and Brazil are familiar foes -- they'll be playing each other for the fourth straight World Cup.
        Brazil won the first two meetings, but the Matildas won the last one 1-0, eliminating Brazil from the 2015 cup in first knockout round.
        "It wouldn't be a major football tournament for the Matildas unless we had to play Brazil -- 2007, 2011, 2015 and now 2019," Australia coach Alen Stajcic said.
        Australia starts with Italy on June 9 in Valenciennes.
        Brazil kicks off against Jamaica -- the first Caribbean team to qualify for this tournament -- June 9 in Grenoble.

        Group D

        • England (4)
        • Scotland (20)
        • Argentina (36)
        • Japan (8)
        Scotland will make its Women's World Cup debut in style: A clash against archrival England on June 9 in Nice.
        "I can't believe it actually worked like that," Alex Scott, a former England international and one of the draw's host, said right after the match was revealed.
        It will be a rematch of sorts from last year, when England beat Scotland 6-0 in their opener at the UEFA Women's Euro 2017 in the Netherlands.
        Japan, the 2011 Women's World Cup champions, will start with Argentina in Paris on June 10.

        Group E

        • Canada (5)
        • Cameroon (46)
        • New Zealand (19)
        • Netherlands (7)
        Canada, the last tournament's host, will begin with Cameroon on June 10 in Montpellier.
        New Zealand starts with the Netherlands June 11 in Le Havre.

        Group F

        • USA (1)
        • Thailand (29)
        • Chile (38)
        • Sweden (9)
        The United States will start their title defense against Thailand on June 11 in Reims.
        Sweden, which like the US is among seven nations that have qualified for every Women's World Cup, starts with Chile on June 11 in Rennes.
          US midfielder Carli Lloyd, who lifted her team with a hat trick in the 2015 finals, was asked on the stage Saturday how confident she was that her country could repeat.
          "Pretty confident," she said. "This squad going into this World Cup is as talented as can be. ... I'm hopeful we'll hoist that next summer."