Garbine Muguruza outslugs Johanna Konta as match ends at 3:12 a.m.

    Garbine Muguruza celebrates after victory over Britain's Johanna Konta.

    (CNN)"I'll go get some breakfast now," quipped Garbine Muguruza after she'd won her Australian Open encounter against Johanna Konta -- at the ungodly hour of 3:12 a.m.

    "I seriously can't believe people are still watching," added the smiling Muguruza, as she was interviewed on court after her 6-4 6-7 (3-7), 7-5 victory over the Briton in Melbourne in the early hours of Friday morning.
    "It was very tough. Johanna was playing good, serving incredible, big shots. I just tried to fight and hang in. We play for you guys, otherwise why would be here," continued the Spaniard, referring to those few hardy fans still inside the Margaret Court Arena at the match's conclusion.
      Muguruza and Konta didn't start playing until 12:30 a.m -- the latest start for a women's match at the Australian Open -- and their second-round tussle then lasted for two hours and 42 minutes.
      They went on court so late because both Kei Nishikori's victory over Ivo Karlovic and Alexander Zverev's win against Jeremy Chardy took nearly four hours to conclude.
      "A mooted move to Court 3 at 11.55 p.m. was canceled after it was discovered that seagulls had rendered the court unusable," said the WTA website.
      Tick tock ...