Expedition 60 crew launches to space station on Apollo 11 anniversary

Andrew Morgan of NASA, left, Alexander Skvortsov of Roscosmos, center, and Luca Parmitano of the European Space Agency.

(CNN)On the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 lunar landing, two astronauts and a cosmonaut launched to the International Space Station.

The multinational crew making up Expedition 60 is NASA astronaut Andrew Morgan, European Space Agency astronaut Luca Parmitano and Roscosmos cosmonaut Alexander Skvortsov.
Expedition 60 is the space station mission that began June 24 and will end October 3. Space station crews are referred to as expeditions.
    They launched from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 12:28 p.m. ET. They will dock at the station at 6 p.m. and enter the space station at 8 p.m.
    They will be joining Roscosmos Expedition 60 Commander Alexey Ovchinin, as well as NASA astronauts Nick Hague and Christina Koch. They arrived at the space station in March.