Colombia protests prompt teargas, curfew and border closures

Various sectors of Colombian society are demonstrating against President Ivan Duque.

(CNN)Colombia closed its borders ahead of a national strike supported by a broad coalition of social movements on Thursday, which saw teargas deployed in the capital Bogota and a curfew ordered in the western city of Cali.

President Ivan Duque, a social conservative, came to power in August 2018 and now faces widespread discontent over rising unemployment, economic reforms and a deteriorating security situation.
Ecuador, Chile and Bolivia have already experienced major social unrest this year as governments in the region struggle to deal with popular grievances over economic stagnation, corruption, inequality and more specific national issues.
    Protests are taking place across the country.
    The ongoing protests were described as peaceful overall and under control by Colombia's National Police Director, General Oscar Atehortua, and the Minister of Interior, Nancy Patricia Gutiérrez.
      They counted 13 marches and 27 gatherings in Bogota. Despite some roadblocks, public transportation continue to function normally, they said during a press briefing on Thursday.
      While other cities saw minor incidents, the bulk of the violence was reported in the western city of Cali, where protesters attacked a local news crew, burning most of their equipment, police said.
      An investigation is ongoing and no detentions have been made, Atehortua added.
        Protesters in Cali also clashed with police at the Valle University and 11 public transportation vehicles were vandalized, but no injuries were reported by the authorities.
        Hooded men intercepted a police armored tank in Cali with makeshift explosive devices, Atehortua said. Three unidentified people were detained.
        The city's mayor imposed a curfew from 7p.m. ET until Friday morning due to the violence. "Those who are outside at this hour, can be detained by the authorities," Maurice Armitage, Mayor of Cali, wrote on Twitter.

        Border closures

        Border closures mean any entry by land or sea from Ecuador, Peru, Brazil and Venezuela will be restricted, according to Colombia's Migration Agency Director Christian Krüger Sarmiento.
        The closures began Wednesday at midnight and will remain in place until Friday at 5 a.m., according to immigration authorities.
        The government also gave local authorities permission to impose exceptional measures such as curfews, restrictions on freedom of movement and bans on the sale of alcoholic beverages, according to a statement from the president's office.
        In a series of videos posted on Twitter, Duque said he recognized peaceful protest as an expression of democracy and acknowledged that Colombia faces multiple challenges.
        Duque spoke out against those he said saw protests as an opportunity for "agitation," and called on protesters to demonstrate peacefully.
        "We will guarantee public order and we will defend, with all of the tools our constitution gives us, the right of Colombians to live in peace," he said.