Australia wins sixth Women's T20 World Cup with victory over South Africa

    Australia won its third consecutive women's T20 World Cup.

    (CNN)Australia won the Women's T20 World Cup in brilliant fashion, defeating home side South Africa by 19 runs in front of a sold out Newlands Cricket Ground in Cape Town on Saturday

    Victory once again underlined Australia's dominance in the sport, as the team completed a repeat three-peat under captain Meg Lanning and won the tournament for the sixth time in seven editions.
    "It is a pretty special effort from the group," Lanning told Sky Sports afterwards.
      "We felt we had a good score and felt confident if we could hit our areas. We set the tone in an excellent powerplay. We have a special group, not just the players but also the support staff."
        After Lanning won the toss and elected to bat first, the Australian openers, Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney, navigated their way through the first few overs as the home crowd urged on the South African attack.
        Healy fell in the fifth over, caught by Nadine de Klerk off Marizanne Kapp's bowling, but Mooney stayed at the crease for an impressive unbeaten 74 off just 53 balls.
        Australia celebrates after winning the Women's T20 World Cup.
        She showcased her full range of shots during her innings, anchoring her side's score, as frugal South African bowling largely restricted the Australians from posting a sizeable score.