ad info

 custom news
 Headline News brief
 daily almanac
 CNN networks
 on-air transcripts
 news quiz

CNN Websites
 video on demand
 video archive
 audio on demand
 news email services
 free email accounts
 desktop headlines

 message boards




Transcripts provided by FDCH

 TIME on politics Congressional Quarterly CNN/AllPolitics CNN/AllPolitics - Storypage, with TIME and Congressional Quarterly

Hearing transcripts from Clinton's defense

Day two

Opening statement of Chairman Hyde and committee debate

Opening statements from the first panel of day two: former U.S. attorney Thomas Sullivan, law professor Ronald Noble, former Watergate task force leader Richard Davis, former acting deputy attorney general Edward Dennis, former Massachusetts Gov. William Weld

Day one

Opening statement of Chairman Henry Hyde

Statement of Gregory Craig, White House Special Counsel

Opening statements from the first panel: former Attorney General Nicholas Katzenbach, Princeton history professor Sean Wilentz, Harvard government professor Samuel Beer, and Yale political science professor Bruce Ackerman

Members' questioning of first panel: Reps. James Sensenbrenner (R-Wisconsin), John Conyers (D-Michigan), Barney Frank (D-Massachusetts), Charles Schumer (D-New York), Lamar Smith (R-Texas), Elton Gallegly (R-California), Rick Boucher (D-Virginia), Charles Canady (R-Florida), Jerrold Nadler (D-New York), Robert Scott (D-Virginia)

Opening statements from the second panel: Former Reps. Elizabeth Holtzman (D-New York), Rev. Robert Drinan (D-Massachusetts), Wayne Owens (D-Utah)

Members' questioning of second panel: Reps. James Sensenbrenner (R-Wisconsin), Bill McCollum (R-Florida), Charles Schumer (D-New York), George Gekas (R-Pennsylvania), Howard Berman (D-California), Howard Coble (R-North Carolina), Rick Boucher (D-Virginia), Chairman Henry Hyde (R-Illinois)

Opening statements from the third panel: Former Watergate task force assistant chief counsel Richard Ben-Viniste; former Senate Watergate Committee assistant chief counsel James Hamilton

Members' questioning of the third panel

Key to speakers:

House Judiciary Committee:

Rep. Henry J. Hyde (R-Illinois), Chairman
Rep. F. James Sensenbrenner (R-Wisconsin)
Rep. Bill Mccollum (R-Florida)
Rep. George W. Gekas (R-Pennsylvania)
Rep. Howard Coble (R-North Carolina)
Rep. Lamar S. Smith (R-Texas)
Rep. Elton Gallegly (R-California)
Rep. Charles T. Canady (R-Florida)
Rep. Bob Inglis (R-South Carolina)
Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-Virginia)
Rep. Stephen E. Buyer (R-Indiana)
Rep. Ed Bryant (R-Tennessee)
Rep. Steve Chabot (R-Ohio)
Rep. Bob Barr (R-Georgia)
Rep. William L. Jenkins (R-Tennessee)
Rep. Asa Hutchinson (R-Arkansas)
Rep. Edward A. Pease (R-Indiana)
Rep. Chris Cannon (R-Utah)
Rep. James E. Rogan (R-California)
Rep. Lindsey O. Graham (R-South Carolina)
Rep. Mary Bono (R-California)
Rep. John Conyers, Jr. (D-Michigan), Ranking Democrat
Rep. Barney Frank (D-Massachusetts)
Rep. Charles E. Schumer (D-New York)
Rep. Howard L. Berman (D-California)
Rep. Rick Boucher (D-Virginia)
Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-New York)
Rep. Robert C. Scott (D-Virginia)
Rep. Melvin L. Watt (D-North Carolina)
Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-California)
Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-Texas)
Rep. Maxine Waters (D-California)
Rep. Martin T. Meehan (D-Massachusetts)
Rep. William D. Delahunt (D-Massachusetts)
Rep. Robert Wexler (D-Forida)
Rep. Steven R. Rothman (D-New Jersey)
Rep. Thomas M. Barrett (D-Wisconsin)


Thomas E. Mooney Sr., Chief Of Staff/General Counsel
Abbe Lowell, Chief Minority Investigative Counsel
David Schippers, Chief Majority Investigative Counsel
Gregory B. Craig, White House Special Counsel

Panel 1: Historical Precedents and Constitutional Standards

Nicholas Katzenbach, Former Attorney General
Sean Wilentz, Dayton Stockton Professor Of History, Princeton University
Samuel H. Beer, Eaton Professor Of The Science Of Government Emeritus, Harvard University
Bruce Ackerman, Sterling Professor Of Law And Political Science, Yale University

Panel 2: Abuse of Power

Former Rep. Elizabeth Holtzman (D-New York)
Former Rep. and Rev. Robert Drinan (D-Massachusetts)
Former Rep. Wayne Owens (D-Utah)

Investigating the President


Tuesday, December 8, 1998

Search CNN/AllPolitics by infoseek
          Enter keyword(s)       go    help

© 1998 Cable News Network, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this service is provided to you.
Read our privacy guidelines.
Who we are.