How each senator voted in Trump’s second impeachment trial

By Christopher Hickey, Janie Boschma and Sean O'Key, CNN Published February 13, 2021

Seven Republicans crossed party lines to find former President Donald Trump guilty of inciting the January 6 insurrection at the Capitol, though the Senate did not have enough votes to convict him. Those seven Republicans are: Sens. Richard Burr (North Carolina), Bill Cassidy (Louisiana), Susan Collins (Maine), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska), Mitt Romney (Utah), Ben Sasse (Nebraska) and Pat Toomey (Pennsylvania).

It’s a contrast with the vote after the first impeachment trial, when Romney was the only Republican to find Trump guilty of abuse of power. Romney was the first senator in US history to vote to remove from office a president from the same party.

Although the Senate did not convict him, Trump is the first-ever president in history to be impeached twice and the first to face an impeachment trial as a former president.

Here’s how everyone voted. Republican senators who voted to convict in this trial but did not vote for the previous impeachment articles in the 2020 Senate trial are shown in bold:

Article I: Incitement of insurrection (Senate)

not guilty43
67 votes to convict
0 not voting, 0 voting "present"
Senators Vote
Richard Burr (NC) Guilty
Bill Cassidy (LA) Guilty
Susan Collins (ME) Guilty
Lisa Murkowski (AK) Guilty
Mitt Romney (UT) Guilty
Ben Sasse (NE) Guilty
Patrick Toomey (PA) Guilty
Angus King (ME) Guilty
Bernard Sanders (VT) Guilty
Tammy Baldwin (WI) Guilty
Michael Bennet (CO) Guilty
Richard Blumenthal (CT) Guilty
Cory Booker (NJ) Guilty
Sherrod Brown (OH) Guilty
Maria Cantwell (WA) Guilty
Ben Cardin (MD) Guilty
Thomas Carper (DE) Guilty
Bob Casey (PA) Guilty
Christopher Coons (DE) Guilty
Catherine Cortez Masto (NV) Guilty
Tammy Duckworth (IL) Guilty
Richard Durbin (IL) Guilty
Dianne Feinstein (CA) Guilty
Kirsten Gillibrand (NY) Guilty
Maggie Hassan (NH) Guilty
Martin Heinrich (NM) Guilty
John Hickenlooper (CO) Guilty
Mazie Hirono (HI) Guilty
Timothy Kaine (VA) Guilty
Mark Kelly (AZ) Guilty
Amy Klobuchar (MN) Guilty
Patrick Leahy (VT) Guilty
Ben Lujan (NM) Guilty
Joseph Manchin (WV) Guilty
Edward Markey (MA) Guilty
Robert Menendez (NJ) Guilty
Jeff Merkley (OR) Guilty
Christopher Murphy (CT) Guilty
Patty Murray (WA) Guilty
Jon Ossoff (GA) Guilty
Alex Padilla (CA) Guilty
Gary Peters (MI) Guilty
John Reed (RI) Guilty
Jacklyn Rosen (NV) Guilty
Brian Schatz (HI) Guilty
Charles Schumer (NY) Guilty
Jeanne Shaheen (NH) Guilty
Kyrsten Sinema (AZ) Guilty
Tina Smith (MN) Guilty
Debbie Stabenow (MI) Guilty
Jon Tester (MT) Guilty
Chris Van Hollen (MD) Guilty
Mark Warner (VA) Guilty
Raphael Warnock (GA) Guilty
Elizabeth Warren (MA) Guilty
Sheldon Whitehouse (RI) Guilty
Ron Wyden (OR) Guilty
John Barrasso (WY) Not Guilty
Marsha Blackburn (TN) Not Guilty
Roy Blunt (MO) Not Guilty
John Boozman (AR) Not Guilty
Mike Braun (IN) Not Guilty
Shelley Capito (WV) Not Guilty
John Cornyn (TX) Not Guilty
Tom Cotton (AR) Not Guilty
Kevin Cramer (ND) Not Guilty
Mike Crapo (ID) Not Guilty
Ted Cruz (TX) Not Guilty
Steve Daines (MT) Not Guilty
Joni Ernst (IA) Not Guilty
Deb Fischer (NE) Not Guilty
Lindsey Graham (SC) Not Guilty
Charles Grassley (IA) Not Guilty
Bill Hagerty (TN) Not Guilty
Josh Hawley (MO) Not Guilty
John Hoeven (ND) Not Guilty
Cindy Hyde-Smith (MS) Not Guilty
Jim Inhofe (OK) Not Guilty
Ron Johnson (WI) Not Guilty
John Kennedy (LA) Not Guilty
James Lankford (OK) Not Guilty
Mike Lee (UT) Not Guilty
Cynthia Lummis (WY) Not Guilty
Roger Marshall (KS) Not Guilty
Mitch McConnell (KY) Not Guilty
Jerry Moran (KS) Not Guilty
Rand Paul (KY) Not Guilty
Rob Portman (OH) Not Guilty
James Risch (ID) Not Guilty
Mike Rounds (SD) Not Guilty
Marco Rubio (FL) Not Guilty
Rick Scott (FL) Not Guilty
Tim Scott (SC) Not Guilty
Richard Shelby (AL) Not Guilty
Dan Sullivan (AK) Not Guilty
John Thune (SD) Not Guilty
Thomas Tillis (NC) Not Guilty
Tommy Tuberville (AL) Not Guilty
Roger Wicker (MS) Not Guilty
Todd Young (IN) Not Guilty