Hawaii Gov. David Ige said violators of a mandatory quarantine in the state could face up to year in prison and a $5,000 fine. The mandate went into effect just after midnight in Hawaii and requires residents and visitors traveling between any of the state’s islands to self-quarantine for 14 days.
“I fully understand that the ability to travel between islands is important for many residents for work, family, and medical treatment and we have been working how to allow essential travel and still protect our community,” said Gov Ige at a press conference.
The mandate requires travelers to fill out an inter-island declaration form. Essential functions, such as those traveling for medical or health care, are not subject to self-quarantine, but travelers must wear masks and follow social distancing requirements.
“In Hawaii, we have a tradition of coming together during challenging times. This is who we are. This is what makes our island community so special and as a community it is all of our responsibility to help flatten the curve and stop the spread of Covid-19 in Hawaii,” said Gov Ige.
The state has reported 224 coronavirus cases including 1 death.